Life

13 Jan

I recently made an important addition to my workspace.

  
Smiling pictures of Tilda and Maggie now greet me each day and I believe, have had a big impact on my productivity! The pictures also provoke discussions with colleagues who didn’t know I had a Maggie, let alone a Tilda. And stories flow, and condolences are offered. And I learn more about them and some of their stories. Discussion doors are opened. How we ended up working in this area of disability support. How we live with the challenges in our lives. How our clients live with the challenges in their lives. 

I like work mostly, some days more than others. I have recently reduced my days so will soon have a day a week  with the small redhead which will be lovely. 

Summer is here and the sun gives us beach days and beer days and though there are some days when loss overwhelms, the sun continues to rise and set and life continues on. 

As always, I am forever grateful to the people in my world who continue to let me know that Tilda lives on with them through a shared memory, a photo or just a note to say they were thinking of her. 

Here’s one of my memories:

When Tilda was 15 months, I took her on my own to New Zealand to visit my dearest friend and her family. She wasn’t quite walking yet, she would take her first steps a week or so after we got back to Melbourne.  Where we were staying had a set of stairs and I remember how much she enjoyed clambering up them and then coming down on her bum. 

New Zealand was also where she first discovered the joys of tinned spaghetti!

  
What a delicious child. 

Xxxx

7 Responses to “Life”

  1. JessB January 13, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

    Tee hee, love that last photo! I love feeling that my desk is mine, after years of working as a temp, I am really enjoying feeling very much ‘at home’, er, at work, that is!

  2. Susan Batagol January 13, 2016 at 4:22 pm #

    Laura your updates keeps Tilda in everybodies mind. Keep going it is wonderful.

  3. Louise January 13, 2016 at 7:34 pm #

    Just beautiful. You have such a way with words. Sending lots of love to you all. Louise xxxxxx

  4. Kirsten January 13, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

    She made such an impact on those of us that were lucky enough to know her and you guys continue to as well! Xx

  5. Juliet January 14, 2016 at 7:17 am #

    Love the photos, and it is wonderful to see both girls. So glad work is going well too AND that you’ll have an extra day with them

  6. Daryl Linnane January 17, 2016 at 4:16 pm #

    Hi Laura……Days, weeks , months pass BUT Tilda is not forgotten ….and nor are you and family. She lives on in our hearts and thoughts , a reminder here , a memory there , a sadness or loss , an insight from you……Tilda is present shining her light of courage and tenacity. She is not forgotten. Love Daryl

  7. Nicole January 19, 2016 at 7:34 am #

    EVERY time I read one of your updates in uplifted and reminded of how precious life is. Thanks a million for keeping up with your news. You honestly inspire me to be a better person,and I know I’m not the only one! 🙂
    You’re someone I look up to very much. Have a WELL deserved brilliant day Laura, love from Nic&Muddyboy. X
    P.s. We’d love to see you guys up here in the Grampians’ someday! Always welcome!

Leave a Reply

