End of 2014

17 Dec

I’m quite happy to say goodbye to this year. It has been a pretty rough one. There have been some good things most definitely. Starting uni has been fantastic and that is all going really well. Darling Maggie is growing and becoming more delightful each day. Friends and family have been around to laugh, eat and sing with. But the milestones of firsts have been hard. Moving away from where Tilda died was hard. Living a full year without her has been hard.

I also broke my ankle last week! I have 6 weeks in a cast which is absolutely not fun at all, especially given that I live up a steep, slippery, narrow little staircase! Again, my friends and family have rallied so I am being taken care of. I started off very poorly but I am getting MUCH better at manoeuvring myself about on crutches and Maggie has proved herself to be very useful, fetching my phone and carrying plates to the table.

IMG_3003 IMG_3023

So good-bye 2014, I bid thee farewell. Bring on 2015 which sees the end of my degree and the start of my Social Work career, it sees a much longed for and much anticipated overseas trip to visit my dearest and oldest friend. It sees me turn 40. It promises some hope and some future dreams.

I would like to say a huge thank you to all those who follow this blog. Those who read, those who comment, those who send their love. I am pretty hopeless at writing back to people but I read each and every comment and they fill my heart with love. Thank you for caring about Tilda, for remembering her. Thank you for giving me a place to vent, cry, laugh, remember and document the story of an extraordinary little person I was lucky enough to call my daughter.

Thank you.

12 Responses to “End of 2014”

  1. Louise December 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    What rotten luck…….try and look for the positives, you won’t have to make Christmas lunch…………!
    Hope you are up and running really soon.
    I wish you and your beautiful family a 2015 full of love, good health and happy times.
    You deserve it!!!!!!
    Best love, Louise

  2. Irene December 17, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    WTF Laura…how did you break your ankle?, you didnt divulge that information!!!! O:-)
    You are with me & us “all the way” as is Maggie & Simon or should I say we are with you! Of course Tilda features in our all the way as without her beautiful presence we would not be so forthcoming with our emotions and whatever the other bits are. We love, respect and hold you and all of your family close to our hearts…well I am speaking on behalf of many many people so let me say, I hold you (especially so) and your family close to my heart. I wish, no desire, you all a loverly (spelt that way because is how I speak!) and excellent end to 2014 and an even better 2015 onwards. Remember Laura, it is nice, right and okay for other people to look after you (Im a bit slack atm, you are in my thoughts 😉 ), as you care and look after us. So here are the kisses XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) and the hugs OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO sebt with copious love (dont know that thingy symbol).

  3. Stella December 17, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    Oh Laura how annoying about your ankle! You and mum can exchange some crutches tips 🙂
    Agreed, good riddance 2014 and bring on the new year. Look forward to seeing you xxx

  4. Pete December 17, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    hear hear, bring on 2015… By the way, how did you do your ankle? Can’t believe that … At least Reg will be waiting on you hand and foot…
    And love the video of Tilda and Maggie, beautiful!

  5. Anne Bunting December 17, 2014 at 8:27 pm #

    And thank you Laura for allowing those of us who didn’t know Tilda personally to appreciate what an extraordinary little person she was and still is in the way she continues to effect so many lives
    This was always going to be a tough year for you all but you have come through it, ready to face all the positives that 2015 will bring
    Love always Anne

  6. Kristy December 17, 2014 at 9:20 pm #

    Such beautiful videos. Hope 2015 brings lots of happy times. 🙂

  7. Juliet December 18, 2014 at 8:16 am #

    Thinking of you and looking forward to seeing you at Christmas. The ankle’s beyond annoying. I hope the weather’;s not too hot and itchy and you’re soon able to shower without your leg in a plastic bag. No Fun At All. All my love to you all,

  8. Daryl Linnane December 18, 2014 at 10:09 am #

    A tough year Laura . So many memories from the past flood in – happy , funny , optimistic, progress, setbacks , disbelief ,sadness and overwhelming sadness for you , Simon & the family. The memories are forever -Tilda, you and your journey never forgotten. A very special girl with a special place in our hearts . I’d heard ( almost with disbelief ! ) about your ankle . Roll on 2015 !! I wish for you all many good tidings , happy times , treasured memories to savour & much to enjoy. Love Daryl

  9. Lou December 18, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    Its been a terrible year love – lets pray 2015 is full of much happiness and laughter xx

  10. Mel Miers (nee Braithwaite) December 19, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

    Dear Laura,

    Sending you and your family lots of love over the festive period and all the very best for the new year. 2015 has a lot to live up to for us too and so I’m equally excited to welcome it in with all the fun of a big year for all of us born in 1975!

    I’ve said it before but your way with words never ceases to amaze me. Never a dry eye (in a good way!) after reading your blogs. And amazed by your strength of character to do what you do to get through each day. You are an inspiration! I wish you a swift recovery from your annoying ankle injury, a fabulous Christmas celebration with family and friends and here’s to 2015!
    Much love from Mel xx

  11. Cally December 20, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    Sending you and your family every good healing wish. Joy and happiness and peace, and thank you for being an inspiration to me. Love Cally xx

  12. Irene December 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm #

    Love to you all sent with big huge bear hugs. Enjoy all the festivities have to iffer….or swear, rant, rave, or whatever….love you Lovely Laura xxxxxOOOOOOOOOOOOxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

