A return to study and a return to Darwin

27 Feb

It’s been a big week. Last Wednesday I had a 4 hour introductory lecture for the Masters of Social Work program which starts next week. It was inspiring, challenging and exciting and I am really looking forward to this new challenge. I had a bit of the wide eyed country bumpkin about me as I navigated my way through the throng of keen and eager students and other city folk. It was wonderful! It’s been a long time since I have felt part of that world and I think I will enjoy being amongst it.

Then, that night, Maggie, Simon and I got on a plane and flew up to Darwin. It has been an emotional time. Memories assaulted me at every turn. Sometimes it was almost physically painful to be there. Around each corner was a memory of a healthy Tilda. A running Tilda. A happy Tilda. And I miss her so bloody much. I wish I could have just one day there with her again. Crocodiles, swimming, swings, we did it all. We scattered some of Tilda’s ashes in the lake near her favourite playground. It was a nearly impossible task. Walking the walk from our old house to the playground nearly broke me and it took a walk around the lake to feel like scattering them there was the right thing. The act of letting them fly into the wind and water was amazingly powerful though. There was some release and a sense of peace which I hadn’t expected.

20140226-124451.jpg

Having Maggie in Darwin was lovely. Seeing her in Tilda’s old haunts was both wonderful and heartwrenching.

20140227-105349.jpg

It is pretty hard travelling with a 1 year old. I must admit that I was less than patient a lot of the time as Maggie navigated a new town, the heat, a random fever and a change in routine. Really, she was pretty good but I think my emotions were on high alert so I found myself on the edge a lot of the time. A huge thank you to the Darwin branch of TeamTilda, in particular Nadia +Mike, Emily + Stu and Liz +Greg for their wonderful support and friendship.

We arrived back into Melbourne late last night, Maggie was a true champion on the plane and slept most of the way.  Now, it is time to get back to our new normal. We remember Tilda in Darwin with a smile and an ache.

20140227-163725.jpg

20140227-163932.jpg

20140227-164127.jpg

20140227-164156.jpg

20140227-164253.jpg

7 Responses to “A return to study and a return to Darwin”

  1. Di White February 27, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    Laura: You know I love and care about you. ‘country bumpkin’, never in my wildest imagination. Things DO happen for a purpose and I just know you were destined to do something amazingly special with your life.I hope I’ll be around to clap loudly!. XX

  2. benita crocker February 28, 2014 at 8:15 am #

    Thank you for continuing to include and share with us – we are all still listening!

  3. FiFi February 28, 2014 at 8:32 am #

    That was so beautiful, thank you for sharing. MUCH LOVE XOXOXOX

  4. Juliet February 28, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    I am so glad that this was an ultimately positive experience. Thank you for sharing it.Good Luck with the Master’s course. I’m sure you’ll do brilliantly, although how you and Simon juggle everything is a mystery to me! All my love

  5. Cally March 2, 2014 at 5:49 am #

    Thank you for your sensitive blog and beautiful photos. It must have been so painful to return to Darwin. Every good wish for the course.
    Give Maggie an extra hug from me. Love Cally

  6. Davey, Irene (TP) March 3, 2014 at 1:47 pm #

    Dear Laura

    I have been writing to you all day and have decided to ditch all I had written to say I am so proud of you and all you have done, achieved and given to those around you. I miss you and feel so sad for what you have experienced over the last few years and I wish I could make things right for you. I do wish you well with your Social Work Masters programme though selfishly I was hoping you would be back here for hugs 😉

    Thinking of you

    Love Irene with HUGS OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  7. Debra March 11, 2014 at 5:13 am #

    Dear Laura

    Thank you for sharing these moment with us that love and care about you. Good luck with the masters program. You’re going to rock it!

    Debraxx

Leave a Reply

