Celebrating Tilda

3 Dec

At the moment I can pretend that she is at school or at VSK. Enjoying her intensive interaction with Louise and Amber or covered in baby chicks.
The empty room though, makes my heart ache.
It has not hit me for real yet. I have had moments where I know it to be true. The moment she stopped breathing. The moment they took her away. But, in other moments, I can quite easily believe that her absence is temporary and that the bus will be dropping her off any minute now.
Organising her celebration has been torturous and heartwarming at the same time. We know we want to celebrate her. Going through the hundreds of photos and videos we have, has allowed us to relive all those wonderful moments that captured who she was.
It seemed very fitting to us that we celebrate her life at the place where she experienced so much joy.
Together with Greenhaven Funerals, we invite you all to join us in a Celebration of Tilda at the Wonderland Fun Park, 120 Pearl River Rd, Docklands on Monday the 9th December at 1:00pm. We ask that you wear her favourite colour blue and donation envelopes will be available for the BDSRA, VSK and her amazing school Glenallen.
We would be delighted if anyone would like to speak at the service and ask that you let me know, laurasmith67@gmail.com
Thank you for the beautiful letters, emails, flowers, messages and phone calls. It has been overwhelming but in such a positive way.
We dread saying the final goodbye but know that Monday will also be a time of joy as we remember our beautiful, amazing, indomitable and delicious Tilda.
Xoxoxoxo

9 Responses to “Celebrating Tilda”

  1. Cally Berryman December 3, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Tilda’s life has left such a major mark on so many people. Bless you in all your preparations for the celebration of Tilda’s life. Love you guys and hugs to Maggie. Xx

  2. Juliet December 3, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    What a wonderful idea to have the celebration of Tilda’s life at a place she enjoyed so much. I’ll see you there. Thinking of you all. All my love

  3. benita crocker December 3, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    I agree with Callly. Tilda’s story will stay with everyone who has been touched by it for the rest of our lives. You have travelled this journey with her with such dignity, inspiration and honesty. Matilida will be remembered.xoxoxo

  4. Gill Lomas December 3, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Somewhere over the rainbow Way up high, There’s a land that I heard of Once in a lullaby.

    Somewhere over the rainbow Skies are blue, And the dreams that you dare to dream Really do come true.

    Someday I’ll wish upon a star And wake up where the clouds are far Behind me. Where troubles melt like lemon drops Away above the chimney tops That’s where you’ll find me.

    Wherever you are now little Tilda, I hope you are playing with the bluebirds in your shiny shoes.

    x Gill

    Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2013 01:34:40 +0000 To: gill_lomas@hotmail.com

  5. Sinead December 3, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    I really wish more than anything that I could be there to celebrate her precious life. Sending you much love and support. You have been in my thoughts so much over these past few days…x

  6. Garry and Carole Laird December 3, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    We are so sorry we will not be able to be there to celebrate Tilda’s life, but we will be with you all in spirit.

    Lots of love to you all

  7. Jan and Dave Marshall December 4, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    We have followed Tilda’s journey all the way and we are very disappointed we will not be able to attend the celebration of her life. We will be thinking of you all and know it will be the finale she would have wanted. Much love.

  8. Sue Baldwin December 4, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    We will thinking of you all on Monday as you celebrate the life of dear Tilda.
    Love
    Sue and Geoff Baldwin

  9. Didi December 11, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    My dear Laura I haven’t been on in a while when I saw all I could feel was ache for you but it is wonderful for you to celebrate her life instead of mourning over it. Tilda was such an inspiration I sorely wish I could have met her. I wish anything that I could have been with you on Mon I will send prayers and all my love. Your little girl is home with God now He will take care of her until you meet her again in heaven, I believe that. Hold on to that my dear Laura. You have been a rock for her and gave her a will to fight for as long as she did but God didn’t want to see her suffering anymore because her body couldn’t take it so He took she home. All my love!

Leave a Reply

