Agony and an alternate world

26 Nov

It is utter agony. To listen to her struggle for breath. To see the coughs wracking her body. To know what is coming.
But along with the agony comes days filled with friends and family. There is laughter and food and stories. The days meld in together. I don’t know how long we have been living in this alternate world.
She fights, we cheer her on. Her strength is inspirational. I stare in wonder at her beautiful face.

20131127-105746.jpg

19 Responses to “Agony and an alternate world”

  1. cally November 27, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    What a magical little girl. Tilda has unified so many people. Her life extraordinary. She looks so peaceful in the beautiful photo. Bless you all. Xx

  2. Danielle x November 27, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    That face! Oh how I love that face!

  3. Em November 27, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    You give strength and hope to so
    Many-
    Thank you for sharing your amazing story with the world, a beautiful child with an extrodanary gift!
    You truly are a special family, thought, love and hope are with you

  4. Emma November 27, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    We’re with you all the way – you’re in our thoughts every minute of the day.
    Tilda – you are simply divine – your determination, resilience and spirit is an inspiration xx

  5. Gill Lomas November 27, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I don’t know you or your beautiful little girl – but I work with the lovely Millie, and have been hearing about Tilda for many months.

    I just want you to know that I, as a mother, am thinking of you all at this extraordinary time.

    I may not have had the pleasure of meeting Tilda – but I think of her every day – and every day she inspires me. She makes me

    try to live every second to the full. She puts my problems into perspective. She reminds me what’s important in this world. She reminds

    me to hug my kids extra tight as often as I can. She reminds me how fortunate I am. She reminds me to live my life.

    So thank you little Tilda, for being such an inspiration. Fight on if you can. Let go if you need to. All my peaceful wishes are with you and your incredible family

    Gill

    Date: Wed, 27 Nov 2013 00:01:34 +0000 To: gill_lomas@hotmail.com

  6. Eleanor November 27, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Thank goodness for your amazing inner circle. Sending love, as always xxx

  7. Caroline November 27, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    You are all amazing and constantly in my thoughts.

  8. Juliet November 27, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    All my love and my thoughts are with you all as you watch and wait

  9. Kimmi November 27, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    Thankyou for sharing. Sending Love to you all. Xx

  10. Kat Varcoe-Cocks November 27, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    I’d love to be articulate as all of the above posts. Alas I think ill have to just cook you something and say it with that. Something that brings a little comfort and memories of good times to savour, something with chocolate I think. Xxx

  11. Laurie November 27, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    She is beautiful. My heart aches for you all. Sending you love and peace.

  12. Sharron T. November 27, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    Tilda looks so beautiful & peaceful. Lots of hugs for you all. xxooooooo.

  13. Mandy Bruton (new Ashby) November 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    Always thinking of you guys. Love and positive thoughts being sent your way. Tilda is just an inspiration to everyone – you have taught her well!!
    Love the Bruton family (Mandy Ashby) Xx

  14. Nicole Brittain November 27, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    Thinking of you, what a gorgeous and courageous girl. Nic xxx

  15. Irene November 28, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Sending lots of warm hugs as always. You are all very wonderful caring beautiful people who have so much love and compassion that you share. I think of you all often xxooxxooxxooxxoo

  16. Didi November 29, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    My dear Laura your strength and Tilda’s tenacity is truly amazing. I wish I could be there in person to be with you to hug both you and Tilda. She has such a will for life just hold on to those smiles. Trust in God that He will and has always held both of you and your husband and wee Maggie in His arms. Sending you all my love!

  17. Ken and Wendy Brown November 29, 2013 at 6:33 am #

    She does look so beautiful and we are sure she is drawing on all that love surrounding her. We are holding you in our thoughts and prayers.
    Love Ken and Wendy

  18. Jennifer Mars December 1, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    chris, this is the darling wee Matilda we looked at on your laptop two years ago. She was a bubbly wee blonde girl riding her scooter. This is a post by her Mum taken two days.

    Jennifer Sent from my iPad

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Outside the bubble | teamtilda - June 22, 2015

    […] I was trying to explain to someone the other day, what it was like during Tilda’s illness. Not the shit bits. But about the feeling of being inside a protected bubble with Tilda’s happiness at the core. Day to day living cocooned us from the outside world and inside our bubble was fear and anxiety; sure. But mostly there was a whole lot of love and support. Inside that bubble were our beautiful friends and family, there were the followers of this blog. Supporters from the sidelines. There was a focus – whatever we could do to make Tilda’s life better. It was simple. Heart-achingly so. That bubble intensified in the weeks leading up to her death. A surreal two weeks living in an alternate world. […]

Leave a Reply

