Scares and a new chair

3 Nov

Tilda gave me a bit of a scare last night. I was on the brink of calling an ambulance for her. This persistent nasty cough which has been plaguing her for a bit turned into violent vomiting which in turn, left her struggling to breathe. One might think that I would be used to it all by now, an old hat who knows exactly what to do when the sickness starts. But the truth is that I run around like a headless chicken, panicking. Do I call an ambulance? How sick is she? What do I do? WHAT DO I DO???? Just as I was about to dial, she calmed right down and her breathing came back to normal. I was able to clean her up and give her her nightly medications. I ended up sleeping with her in the lounge-room and she had a very good night’s sleep, no doubt exhausted after her exertions.

Perhaps I should have called an ambulance anyway but to be honest, I would like to avoid the hospital as much as possible. For so many reasons. The most pertinent being is that they can do very little for her and it ends up being a frustrating exercise in waiting for doctors to tell us things we already know.

I took her to the GP today to get her checked and thankfully, it is not in her lungs.  We have started her on antibiotics which will hopefully help clear it up. She has been otherwise pretty well with no fevers and the shakiness has been somewhat improved with the new drug.

In other news, after a year of waiting, we finally received Matilda’s new wheelchair! She is much more comfortable in it and seems to sit up straighter with less leaning of the head. It is also much easier to manoeuvre so we are very happy. Our wonderful school are doing some minor adjustments to make it even more perfect for her but it is definitely an improvement, I can even wheel it one-handed!

Waiting for the school bus

Waiting for the school bus

Outside in the garden

Outside in the garden

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maggie and I are also a little snotty at the moment so we are really looking forward to some good weather to shake off these coughs and colds. Melbourne teased us with a beautiful day yesterday but it didn’t last. C’mon summer, we are ready for you now!

xoxoox

4 Responses to “Scares and a new chair”

  1. Cally November 3, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Great news about the wheelchair. Tilda looks as though she likes it.
    I would panic about yes or no for the ambulance too. As you say, hospitals can be the most frustrating alternative universe. Thinking of you all and sending you a large barrel of good wishes. Love Cally Xx

  2. Kristy November 3, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    Have you tried elderberry extract to boost her immune system? Also a sublingual vita D3 will help fight the bacteria and viruses. Just I thought. You are a good momma. Much love ❤

  3. Juliet November 4, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I’m definitely in the panic camp. I am sure that you are MUCH better at making the decision than I would be and hospital is really really hard, especially if they can’t do much once you’re there… Lovely photo of Tllda waiting for school with Maggie busily investigating behind her! I also greatly admire the crocheted blanket Tilda’s wearing. I really hope you both throw off your colds. It must seem like an endless cycle. Love to you all.

  4. waidehi November 4, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Hi buddy – sorry to hear about the scare…what a spin-out!! Glad you were able to avoid hospital waits and such. Here’s to getting rid of the snots for you and Maggie….as we head into autumn and winter…may summer come in strong for you all. Love you. xoxox

Leave a Reply

