What do you want to be when you grow up?

7 Aug

There is an episode of Dora that always makes my heart sink when I hear it start. Dora and Boots are off one of their many adventures, this time to explore all the different jobs they could do when they grow up. And throughout it all, Dora asks her audience again and again, in her rather grating shouty voice, what do YOU want to be when you grow up?

I wonder how much Tilda understands.

I want to shout back to that annoying explorer. I wouldn’t care what she wanted to be just as long as she was here. And healthy. And happy. The three h’s for parents. I heard someone say recently that as a parent, you are only as happy as your unhappiest child. I think there is some truth in that. I am grateful to have 2 of the h’s at the moment. She is here and and she is happy. She shows me this day after day with her beautiful smile and delectable laugh.

Healthy? No. And today we have another ailment to add to the mix. A rash has appeared on her chest. With no other accompanying symptoms, I sent her off to school yesterday but it looked slightly worse this morning so I decided to keep her home and take her to the dr. It is most likely to be a skin irritation that has got infected but the dr also swabbed for chicken pox just to make sure and we will find out tomorrow. In the meantime, it is back on the antibiotics and no school again tomorrow. Poor little possum. She does not appear to be in any pain or distress which is good news but I am hopeful that it will clear up very quickly.

So more Dora tomorrow, I have learnt to tune most of it out which is really the only way. I just hope that Maggie is not being quietly indoctrinated as the sounds of Dora waft through the house and bury themselves into her growing brain. Noooooooooooooooo!!!!!

I will update regarding the rash as soon as I know any more.

Much love.

Xoxoxoxoxo

4 Responses to “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

  1. Cally August 8, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    Dora- It seems so cruel to hear about what “you want to be when you grow up” and be Tilda. Unfair Rotten -I agree.
    But in many ways Tilda is more grownup than any of us.
    She has experienced a life time already.
    She is an old soul. She is teaching us how to exist.
    She also understands Dora with her irritating voice.
    Giant hugs, love Cally xx.

  2. Danielle C August 8, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    It breaks my heart when the reality of what is happening with Tilds hits me in the face. I quite happily bumble along, looking for her gorgeous smile & pretending this is it for years & years & years to come. Bloody Dora!
    But if anyone teaches us to make the most of the most of each day, it is your incredibly resilient eldest. And then your beautiful youngest beams at us regardless. And don’t even get me started on how much I love you & Simon. You are all just of a little bundle of heaven! 🙂

  3. Juliet August 8, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I do hope it’s not chicken pox! And I hope Maggie (who will probably LOVE Dora) also finds that she enjoys other musical experiences. All my love

  4. Nicole August 19, 2013 at 2:09 am #

    It’s great hearing your updates, they’re always so positive and brave in the face of things that would floor others. Thanks so much for sharing all that you do. Here’s wishing Tilda’s results are nothing to worry about.
    Sending happiness and strength to you all. xoxox

    Bloody Dora!!! teehee!

Leave a Reply

