Quick Positive Update

10 Jan

You lovely people must be doing something – your vibes to the universe / prayers / good thoughts etc have resulted in a MUCH better day for Tilda. And me! Perhaps she had a little bug that has now passed but she has tolerated breakfast and lunch feeds extremely well with no whimpering and her good cheer has returned although energy levels are still low. We will test her oral eating tonight with a stop at KFC for popcorn chicken. If she refuses this, I think we know that things have changed. We have already agreed with the dietitian that we will increase her calories through the tube so that she will be getting the majority of her needs from it. I am happy with this plan.

In PEG news, I called the hospital today and we are booked in for Friday, 2nd March. I will admit that I burst into tears at this and was reassured that we are the top of the list for any cancellations. I do feel better now that things seemed to have settled down though so things don’t seem quite as dire as they did.

I also realised that some of the whimpering was in reaction to a particular episode of Maisy that she was watching! We are sticking to Dora today and her smiles are back.

 

Thank you all. xooxox

12 Responses to “Quick Positive Update”

  1. Ruth January 10, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Oh it’s so good to hear that a date has been set for the PEG, a load of your mind darl.

    Haha…she was feeling sad for Maisy, so it’s Dora from now on. Her little Spanish accent makes me smile too 🙂

    xxx

  2. Nancy Morrison January 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    oh Laura thank goodness you sent this update! I admit I was rather sad after the last blog post…
    hooray for dora and popcorn chicken 🙂

  3. Kylie January 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    You’ve got a lot riding on your shoulders – a sad post makes everyone sad, a happy post cheers us all up for the day!! sorry to put that on you……..but keep them both coming, the happy and the sad, they’re all necessary.

  4. Carole and Garry Laird January 10, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Laura that is so good to hear. X

  5. Jac January 10, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Yay Tilda!

  6. Alex January 10, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Through the good and the sad, I’ll never stop sending you all my love. Glad the lil one is feeling a little better and you are too xxxx

  7. Cally January 11, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I am glad the PEG is going a little better for Tilda and is followed by KFC popcorn chicken.
    What could be nicer?

    Take care my dear Lauren,

    Love Cally X

  8. Juliet January 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I’m so glad she’s come good again! Hooray for Dora. And fingers crossed for a troublefree time AND an earlier PEG date.

    Love

    Juliet

  9. Anne Bunting January 11, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    No wonder you burst into tears Laura – all the emotional issues you have to face over the last couple of days as well as the technical details of tubes, feeding etc. So pleased that there is some light at the end of the tunnel for you now – fingers crossed for a cancellation. hope you can get a bit of time to enjoy Tilda in the next few weeks of your holidays.
    love always Anne

  10. Kym January 12, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    that dam maisy I was always suspicious of that mouse. I will write a complaint letter on Matildas behalf as you know firsthand I am the queen of winging and complaining. I will start an investigation on Maisys motives today!!! By the way Im pretty keen on popcorn chicken myself and guess what no friggin KFC in Katherine seeee Im winging again. Ive been craving it since starting to read the blog. Well thats all from me from me for now, Im so glad to hear you had a cry, its good to cry, I love to cry, lets all cry, thinking of you guys tonight.

  11. Rebecca January 13, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Glad to read her smiles are back! Thinking of you guys xxx

  12. Ken and Wendy Brown January 15, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Very good news about the PEG. Dora must be spreading her energy. Keep smiling Tilda.

    x Ken and Wendy xxx

Leave a Reply

