Writing

10 Nov

Writing can be a frustrating exercise. Thoughts don’t tend to neatly arrange themselves in a cohesive manner. They swarm around in the head, jumbled together, layer upon layer upon swirl upon swirl. I guess that is why writing can be such a cathartic thing. It forces one to set down those thoughts in some kind of understandable way. It forces one to sort through the swirl and try and get to the heart of whatever is going on up there.

We are wrestling with some big decisions here. Decisions about whether or not to have more children and the number of layers and swirls going around and around is enough to make one very, very tired. I don’t have any answers, only a lot of questions and concerns and inexplicable feelings. I know that we don’t have to make any decisions now and that having pressure to do so will only make the process more intense but there is a feeling that once one has started a thought process, some kind of resolution at the end of it would be nice.

Writing helps, and time helps. I wrote the paragraphs above yesterday and already today can feel the angst lift a bit. It isn’t something that I have to angst about right now. It is time to let it be for a while.

Thank you to all who have already responded to the invitation! Please feel free to bring any small children you think might enjoy the rides and frivolity! We are really looking forward to seeing everyone and particularly looking forward to hearing the sounds of Tilda as she rides high on the rollercoaster.

Thank you also for the comments, messages and outpourings of support. I say it a lot but it really means the world to us.

 

ox

9 Responses to “Writing”

  1. Danielle x November 11, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Reading “looking forward to hearing the sounds of Tilda as she rides high on the rollercoaster” gave me goosebumps. I am so excited! 🙂
    Big love girlfriend! x

  2. Juliet November 11, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I absolutely agree that there are decisions that simply do not have to be made right now. My heart aches for you and Simon.
    On a different note, though there will be a cold day in hell before I get onto one, I am really looking forward to seeing Tilda and Friends on the rolercoaster.

  3. Ruth November 11, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Writing does help grogeous, whether it’s only for your piece of mind or for you to share with others.
    Decisions can be made when the time is right and only you and Simon will recognise that time.
    Unfortunately I won’t be at Tilda’s party in person but my spirit and thoughts will be with you all and on the jumping castle…if there is one 🙂

    You’re amazing!!!! xox

  4. Clare November 11, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    If you work out how to make those confused thoughts make sense please let me know!! and it is ok to decide not to make decisions……..

  5. kylie November 14, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    What’s really interesting though is how good you are at writing – I never knew! If it’s cathartic as well, that’s even better.
    xx

  6. Heather Jackson November 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    So wish I could come to enjoy your wish day! 🙂 We just got back from Zaki’s wish trip. I am boycotting starting real life again tomorrow! 😦
    I think of you all often! You remain in my prayers! I loved her squeal for the train! My delicious Tilda…all my love!

  7. Phillip Melchior November 15, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Dear Laura,
    just wanted to say that I think you’re extraordinary. What you and Simon (and of course your wonderful parents) are going through is almost beyond imagining. While physically we can only sit here on the other side of the ditch wringing our hands and wiping away the tears, we are sending you all the good vibes we can muster.
    much love
    Barbara and Phillip

  8. Carole and Garry Laird November 15, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Hi Laura Simon and Tilda

    Just wanted to say thank you for the invitation which arrived in Hong Kong this week.
    We are so sorry we are not able to make it to Melbourne to join in the fun and especially to watch Tilda enjoy ‘her Magical Wish’ day on Friday 25th November.
    We will however think of you all and look forward to hearing about it.
    Love and best wishes

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holding a steady course « teamtilda - October 17, 2012

    […] bit of navel gazing (especially now that said navel is now an outie). I recall how around this time last year, we were in a headspin because we couldn’t work out whether we even wanted to go down the path […]

Leave a Reply

