Playground Musings

3 Oct

When we lived in Darwin, I would take Matilda to the playground almost everyday. She would ride her tricycle or scooter and we would take some bread to feed the ducks. Her favourite thing to do at the playground was the swing – the higher and faster the better. I would spend many an hour pushing her  back and forth, back and forth.

 

Yesterday was the first time we had been to the playground in quite some time.

It is nice to see that not too much has changed 🙂

I should confess now that a lot of the playground outings back in Darwin bored the hell out of me! I used to take my phone and would often use that time to make phone calls. Tilda would run around happily, going up the stairs to come down the slide and I would push her on the swing for as long as I could take it.

To be honest, that hasn’t changed much either! Pushing on a swing does get rather tiresome but as it was back in Darwin, I will continue to take her to the swing because the look of joy and delight on her face is certainly worth the price of a little boredom.

I also had my first taste yesterday of having to explain Matilda’s condition to another child.

Very Sweet Little Girl (pointing at Matilda): “Why can’t she walk?”

Me: “Well, she has something wrong inside her brain and it makes her a little bit wobbly.”

Very Sweet Little Girl: “And floppy?”

Me (laughing): “Yes, I guess she is also a little floppy.”

Very Sweet Little Girl (very decisively): “She is just like my bunny.”

Me (confused): “Ok – yes,  I suppose she could be like your bunny.”

Very Sweet Little Girl: “It’s not a real bunny. it’s a toy bunny and it is all floppy.”

Me: “Ahhhh, yes, just like that!”

The little girl and her friend were quite delightful and not at all perturbed by Matilda’s wobbleyness. I did notice, however, that the Very Sweet Little Girl’s mum stayed well away which I thought was pretty interesting.

Health Update

Matilda has, unfortunately, developed a rather snotty nose and a bit of a cough so we will be trying to not let that get out of hand. We have started her on a multivitamin to try and get some goodness into her. The eating remains sporadic. The wobbleyness is ever apparent.

Again, I thank you all for your amazing support and wonderful comments.

oxox

.

14 Responses to “Playground Musings”

  1. M October 3, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    you two just made my day….x M

    • teamtilda October 7, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      You’ll have to come with us next time! oxoxox

  2. Ray Thomas October 3, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Hi Laura

    Have just read your playground post. Playgrounds are certainly places that can be a little boring at times but where you can also have some extraordinarily delightful moments. Your dad pointed me towards this website a while back and must admit that I have been a bit tardy in responding. Gloria and I met your lovely daughter in Melbourne earlier in the year when she was being looked after by your mum and dad. I think, at that time, you were about to move to Mt Waverley. Anyway, we enjoy reading all the comments that have been posted and can only marvel at the wonderful job you are obviously doing.
    Fond thoughts from Perth.

    • teamtilda October 7, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      Thanks for your comment and your sympathy with playground boredom! But you are right, definitely a lot of wonderful moments to be had there. Anything that gets that kind of giggle from Tilda totally negates any kind of feelings of boredom! Thank you for your support. xo

  3. Benita crocker October 3, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Hey Laura, I have just signed up to do “City2Sea” run in November (don’t ask) but saw that you could nominate which charity you wanted your entrance fee money to go and I was very pleased to see that Battern Disease Association was one listed so that’s where Ben and I are donating to. I am also going to see if I can set up a fundraising page for the run to have other people donate if they want to. Every bit helps!! Looking foward to seeing you in a couple of weeks.

    be

    • Benita crocker October 3, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      And of course I mean Batten not Battern (don’t even think that exists!)

      • teamtilda October 3, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

        Thank you so much Benita! That’s fantastic! I am so pleased to hear that the Batten Association was listed especially given that it is so small.
        Battern does sound interesting- possibly someone saying Batten with a terrible faux-Southern accent!
        Definitely looking forward to the Mother’s Group catch up!
        oxxo

  4. Diane October 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Tell Tilda I can give her a run for her money with my crazy hair….and that I’ve always wanted STRAIGHT!!!!! hair, not curly.
    Love Di xx

  5. Dianne October 3, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Nothing is ever so amazing then the joy, laughter and smile that a child brings. Tilda is so amazing…… Little trooper!!!!!!!! Oh, and you are also a trooper. No, you are the trooper of all troopers……….. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your holiday’s and see you soon. xx

    • teamtilda October 7, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      Absolutely – that laugh is very addictive! Not looking forward to holidays being over but certainly looking forward to seeing you! oxox

  6. Carole and Garry Laird October 4, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Laura that must have been so hard for you. Children say it as it is! They are so innocent but aware and inquisitive.

    I hope Tilda’s cough and cold is on the mend.

    Carole and Garry

    • teamtilda October 7, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

      Thanks Carole and Garry – they certainly do. But it was fine really, she was very sweet about it, it’s just hard to know the right way to say it – I don’t want to scare anyone or make Tilda out to be scary. I don’t really know if there is a good way to explain it though.

      Tilda certainly not letting cough and cold deter her in any way! I think she is on the mend in any case – thanks for the good wishes!

      xoxo

  7. Judy McKinnon October 6, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Hi Laura, I look forward so much to your blogs, always some interesting insight. The playground. I wondered if the distant mother didn’t want to be seen as too curious or a sticky-beak. Just a thought.

    So lovely to see little Tilda so full of joy and having a great time. And you are clearly enjoying every moment with her.

    With love from
    Judy

    • teamtilda October 7, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

      Thank you Judy – you are right, that could definitely be the reason. She wasn’t overtly rude at all, I haven’t encountered that thankfully!
      And thankfully, Tilda, is for the most part, extremely happy and easy to be with – a joy!
      Thank you for your continued support.

      xo

Leave a Reply

