Having a bad day

5 Sep

I tried to go to work this morning. I really did. I was thwarted. Firstly, the car was in our newly cleaned garage but unfortunately I didn’t have a key. So after much huffing and puffing around looking for one, I set off for the train station. A 20 minute walk which was actually quite pleasant in the sunshine but I was well aware that I was already late. Got to the train station, missed the train. Had to wait 10 minutes for the next one. Not so bad, again there was sunshine and Words With Friends to play. Finally got on the train. Due to the previously mentioned sunshine, I had taken off my glasses and put on my prescription sunglasses. Who can guess what happened next?

It took me two train rides and a tram ride to get to work. It was only once I was metres away from the office that I went to put away my prescription sunnies and put on my glasses. No. It was not to be. Somewhere between train rides and tram rides, I had left my glasses behind.

Not relishing the idea of sitting in the office with sunnies on all day , I went back to the train station to be told that items have to be missing for 24 hours before you are able to check with lost property. Bloody hell. So no work today. Back on the train, back on the 20 minute walk this time uphill and home.  Now sporting my rather old and dilapidated pair of glasses but at least I can see and don’t look like some kind of wanker celebrity.

Grumpy, grumpy, grumpy. But, the sun is still shining and let’s be honest, having a day at home rather than working isn’t all that bad!

Though I may be a little grumpy, Tilda is not. We had a very pleasant weekend. Yum cha with the lovely Treens and John and 6 week old Clementine, who is divine.  Tilda ate heaps which is always wonderful to see. Then I took her for a swim at the pool. I must try and find a way to film her in the water because she just loves it. It does completely knacker her out though and usually 1/2 an hour is her limit. Quiet night in on Saturday then Father’s Day on Sunday! Glenallen had a Father’s Day stall on Friday and we had been told that Tilda had picked something specifically for him. It was all wrapped up in her bag and to be perfectly honest, we weren’t expecting much! But Simon was very pleased with his new Homer Simson key ring! With a torch! And three Homer Simpson phrases! Well played Matilda!

Dinner at my lovely parents house last night which is always nice. Below are a couple of videos taken. The first of the famous roly poly’s and the second of the equally famous stair attraction!

 

 

Thank you for all your wonderful comments on this blog.  I love reading them and I must say, having somewhere to write down my thoughts is proving a very cathartic exercise.

xoxoox

12 Responses to “Having a bad day”

  1. Kylie September 5, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    I missed the stairs and the roly poly’s last night! We had to cancel all engagements due to sick boys, what a shame. Still have personal styling appointments and 5th birthday parties to look forward to though!

  2. Carole and Garry Laird September 5, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Oh dear one of those days and you just wonder what you have done to deserve it!! Absolutely nothing.

    I loved the videos of Tilda and Grandma.

    I hope the sun keeps shining, it always seems to help.

    Carole

  3. helen f. September 5, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Laura, your blog is beautiful and I have come to look forward to the videos of Tilda as they appear. You have a way with words and your bravery, good humour and bucketloads of love for tilda shine right through.

    I’m glad there was at least some sunshine on what was otherwise a bad day! I had an experience the other week at work where I accidentally wore two left-eye contact lenses as I misplaced my right ones…spent the day leaning to one side, bumping into doorways and squinting like Pop-eye…

    • teamtilda September 6, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      Hah! That’s awesome. I am laughing because I have done the same! Looking forward to seeing you when you are back in Melbs.
      xoxoox

  4. Cally September 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Dear Laura,
    Love the blogg, love the photos, love the video clip. Gorgeous Tilda.
    🙂
    Cally

  5. Maria Munro September 6, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Hi Laura,
    my name is Maria Munro and I am a friend of Marg Dowling’s. We had dinner together last week and she told me about you. I enjoyed reading your blog and I hope that it helps writing your feeling and events down. Loved watching the videos of Tilda and hope to see many more. All the best,
    Maria

    • teamtilda September 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      Hi Maria,

      Thank you for your message and support! It means a lot to us.
      Laura

  6. Stella F September 6, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Laura you write so beautifully so great to see Tilda (and also Janet!). Glad she wasn’t doing roly poly’s down the stairs as I thought at first glance! Sending so much love xx

    • teamtilda September 20, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Thank you lovely Stella! She would definitely have liked to go roly polying down the stairs, having absolutely no sense of self protection AT ALL!! Makes for interesting living! Love to you and the London Fabinyi’s, are we seeing you this Christmas??
      xo

  7. Anne Ryan September 7, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Hi Laura, I think this is a great idea. the staff are always asking me how Tilda is, I will give them this blog site and they will be able to have a look whenever they like.

    Anne from Angliss

  8. Alex September 9, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Laursey, I absolutely adore the blog. It is a genius idea to share the good, bad, amazing and the heart-wrenching. I have laughed, cried, felt my heart tighten and also giggled along with lil Tilds herself. It has taken so much courage for you to share your raw emotions and I cannot say how much I appreciate reading the journey. Thank you.

    You, Simon and Tilda are such beautiful people in every sense of the word, fantastic, gorgeous and divine. Love you guys x

  9. Heather Jackson September 9, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Her squeal is delicious!

Leave a Reply

